The Transportation Policy Committee

Members represent:

  • Lexington-Fayette Urban County Government (LFUCG)
  • Jessamine County
  • City of Nicholasville
  • City of Wilmore
  • LFUCG Council Districts
  • LFUCG Council-At-Large
  • Lextran
  • KYTC Secretary of Transportation
  • Federal Highway Administration (non-voting)
  • Federal Transit Authority (non-voting)

Responsibilities include:

  • Adopt official goals for transportation in our area, like those in the Metropolitan Transportation Plan
  • Approve how local transportation projects use funding, especially from the federal government
  • Adopt transportation-related policies

Transportation Technical Coordinating Committee

The TTCC has two subcommittees: Congestion Management & Air Quality Committee and the Bicycle and Pedestrian Advisory Committee. Congestion, air quality, bikeability, and walkability are all issues of special importance to our community. These two subcommittees provide a space and process for tackling these issues.

TTCC members represent:

LFUCG Divisions of Planning, Engineering, and Traffic Engineering
Jessamine County Government
City of Nicholasville
City of Wilmore
University of Kentucky Parking & Transportation
Bluegrass Area Development District (BGADD)
Federated Transportation Services of the Bluegrass (FTSB)
Bluegrass Community Action Partnership (Bluegrass Ultra Transit)
Kentucky Transportation Cabinet (KYTC)
Bluegrass Airport
Railroad companies
Federal Highway Administration
Maintenance, operations, and public safety agencies

Bicycle and Pedestrian Advisory Committee

Working with LAMPO staff and our partners, BPAC members:

1. Encourage more biking and walking
2. Advocate for design and development standards to achieve Complete Streets
3. Spread information and raise awareness about safety in our streets

Some recent progress towards improved biking and walking for our community include:

1. Recognition for participation in the FHWA’s Mayor’s Challenge for Safer People
and Safer Streets,
2. Participation in Smart Growth America’s Safe Streets Academy,
3. Completing 120 miles of bicycle infrastructure,
4. Achieving Bronze Level status as a Bicycle Friendly Community
5. Pledging to the Ten Minute Walk campaign (an initiative of the Urban Land Institute, National Recreation and Parks Association, and Trust for Public Land)

BPAC includes:

University of Kentucky
Friends of Town Branch
LFUCG Engineering
LFUCG Traffic Engineering
LFUCG Environmental Quality and Public Works
KYTC Central Office Planning
KYTC D7 Planning
KYTC Central Office Bicycle and Pedestrian Coordinator
Bluegrass Area Development District
Jessamine County
City of Wilmore Planning and Zoning
Local Bike Shops
Council Members
Local Design and Engineering Consulting Firms

Congestion Management & Air Quality Committee

Our Congestion Management & Air Quality (CMAQ) Committee helps us stay on top of these requirements. CMAQ is an advisory group of transportation professionals, engineers, and planners. CMAQ helps LAMPO take a systematic and regionally-accepted approach to managing our area’s congestion. On a regular basis we identify, put in place, track, and report on our progress. With support from CMAQ, we:

  • Define desired outcomes
  • Collect data and track how well the system works
  • Identify the local network of congested streets
  • Define how bad and how long periods of congestion are
  • Determine causes of congestion
  • Identify congestion management strategies
  • Put strategies into play: set a schedule and find funding for each strategy
  • Check the effectiveness of implemented strategies
  • Establish standards for improving multimodal transportation as a way to decrease congestion